San Diego - California - USA

Hey! If you are a Maker in the San Diego region and are involved in Covid relief efforts, chime in! This thread is a place to connect with others, ask questions, whatever!

BTW, I’m Drew, the CEO of AstroPrint. I’m based in San Diego right now. I have been traveling a lot and do not have access to any 3D Printers, but I know a lot of people in the industry and can help make connections! Also, I can give feedback about our Clusters App, which I believe many of you are using!

Cheers,
Drew

Hello Drew

I’m interested in assisting if I can. I can one small printer (xyz davinci) and a ton of ABS filament. It’s been awhile since I’ve used it but if I can’t print and ship off some hardware, I’d be more than happy to. Are there any files available for the parts in critical need? I’m out in Lakeside.
Thanks
-Alex

1 Like

Hey Drew! Thanks for setting up this forum. I am a science and design teacher based in North county. I took home one of our smaller footprint machines (Robo C2) for repair when school closures first began. I have it up and running and have been printing the comfort mask strap (https://3dprint.nih.gov/discover/3dpx-013440) from the NIH covid-19 supply chain response page (https://3dprint.nih.gov/collections/covid-19-response) in their 3d print exchange. I have about 30 printed now and would love to get them somewhere they are needed. I am interested in any other prints that can help and fit on our small (5 inch x 5 inch) print bed. Do you know any local groups that might need them and how to get them there? I am open to any other prints that may fit on our print bed, if you are aware of other designs in need. Thanks for setting this up!

(By the way- astroprint is great! I teach in a 1:1 Chromebook environment, and your web based slicer is a tool I share with my students to slice their stl’s to gcodes and get a feel for print time with various settings. Thanks for putting it out there!)

1 Like