Tronxy X5SA compatibility

So after a long hiatus from FDM printing (been doing resin prints) I am heading back to FDM for larger format prints at least. I dusted off the Astrobox and updated things and, my there have been a few changes since I last used it…:slight_smile:

Anyway I would like to use the Astrobox with a Tronxy X5SA printer…I don’t know for sure if it is possible, I have read conflicting posts about whether the printer is even USB controllable (most seem to use flash cards but no way I want to go that route). I don’t have access to the machine yet but has anyone gotten Astrobox to work with one of these printers? I know they use a less common firmware and control board, I think maybe from Chitu but not sure.

That’s what I’m working on now. I’ve been using octoprint and repiteir server for two years with my tronxy xs5a pro, octoprint with moderate results, and repiteir server with fairly good results, and excellent reliability on both. My only complaint with them is the lack add ons that were reliable and the limited out dated user interface with octoprint, the repiteir server was great in all those regards, but was really complicated to setup, seemingly endless debugging and modding of the firmware to get it to function properly. Total pain in the ass, with very little support. But, when it did work , it was great. Awsome user interface with everything you need in one spot including quick link to you fusion 360 account. Full monitoring and control over the printer and the prints. But I still have problems debugging a whole year later. Out of the blue glitches and failures and those wtf is going moments. I’m barely moderately versed in linux and raspberry pi coding, so it’s a long drawn out process with a lot of trial and error. So this appears to be a great alternative. I’ve been messing with it part time the past two days. Took a while to get the firmware and the wifi to recognize and communicate with my network, I’m still not quite sure what that w