Using chromebook for 3D printing?

Hi, I’m a teacher in a middle school where most of the students use Chromebooks. Right now our 3D Printing workflow consists of students sending me the STLs they create (in Tinkercad), then I have to slice each one myself on my PC (i.e. not a chromebook). A few of the students can slice on their home computers, but then I’m not there to help them if they run into an issue during the slicing process.

Can the students use AstroPrint on their Chromebooks to slice their files?
What is the workflow for printing, after the slice occurs?
Can they share/send those gcode files to me without having to download the files?
Thank you for your help!

1 Like

Hi Garry, welcome to AstroPrint!
For sure you can use Chromebooks with AstroPrint. We actually have many schools, teachers, and STEM programs that use AstroPrint specifically for this purpose.

The workflow for the students would be something like this:

• They would first import their 3D designs from Tinkercad to AstroPrint. Within Tinkercad there is an AstroPrint App that will let them move their Tinkercad designs into their AstroPrint account. No need to download the 3D designs…
  • The students would then slice using the AstroPrint Cloud slicer. You might need to give them some instructions on setting this up for the first time, but after that it should be easy. Basically, they’ll need to select the correct printer and material on the Slicing page. You may want to verify the start/end gcode for the printer you are using as well…
  • After the slice: They will need to send you the gcode file. For now, email is likely the best way to do that. After you get the GCODE file from them, you can upload it into your AstroPrint account. From there you can send it to the printer remotely (wirelessly) and monitor/cancel the print from the AstroPrint mobile app (if desired).